My Superstar Anime Experience

Superstar Anime was the first convention at Virginia Beach Convention Center and overall had impactful moments at least for me. This is where I put more attention on voice acting and how it translates into actual reality. Voice acting might not be the easiest career, but as an acting career is difficult to make a name well known. Anyway, Virginia Beach did deliver on valuable voice actors like Linda Ballantyne, Janet Varney, Linda Young, and John Burgmeier. I got to witness the Sailor Moon and Korra Q&A panels where the light of voice acting came to me. Janet Varney was able to tell Legend of Korra fans very insightful answers to their questions and brief statements on favorite moments. She did voice-overs for other projects but being able to do one for Nickelodeon's attempt at an Avatar sequel was the icing on the cake for Varney. As Korra, she feels that she is part of something greater through Korra's post-traumatic stress in the show. The “D” in PTSD is left out because it is not a disorder for it is only reoccurring stress. Linda Ballantyne's huge success with Sailor Moon was highlighted in the panel but Cyberchase was an honorable mention for the villain Wicked. A dream came true in Linda meeting Wicked's love interest, Hacker, who is voiced by Christopher Lloyd, at a comic convention. Since Toronto came upon victory recently, Linda could relate to an athlete's response in him saying “Did I think could win, No I knew I could win.” This is similar to her voice acting career in which she knows for 100 percent that she has what it takes to be a voice actor no matter the circumstances. John Burgmeier is known for some appearances in Dragon Ball and other appearances in anime. Just as John appears in anime, he also writes certain portions of the dialogue scripts for Dragon Ball and of my favorites Fruits Backet. He signed a picture of the Fruits Basket cast with the message “To MC Anime, 'Maison,' I'm the writer,” followed by his autograph underneath it. Probably, the best moment with John was him telling where Dragon Ball's storyline got better. I ended the conservation with my punchline from Top Anime Jokes of “What do Saiyans wear to the beach -Trunks” in which it was previously mentioned before. Just as I had fun, I also felt accomplished with advertising Reynocon, Getouei Con, and MC Anime blogging page all as a vendor.

www.superstaranime.com/